Editorial Team

Management of the African Human Rights Law Journal



Frans Viljoen
Professor of Human Rights Law and Director, Centre for Human Rights, University of Pretoria, South Africa

Associate editors

Solomon Ebobrah
Professor and Dean, Faculty of Law, Niger Delta University, Nigeria

Magnus Killander
Professor of Human Rights Law, Centre for Human Rights, University of Pretoria

Annelize Nienaber
Professor and Head: Department of Public Law, Faculty of Law, University of Pretoria

Usang Maria Assim
Associate Professor, Children’s Rights Project, Dullah Omar Institute for Constitutional Law, Governance and Human Rights, Faculty of Law, University of the Western Cape

Publication Manager

Isabeau de Meyer
Programme Manager, Centre for Human Rights, University of Pretoria

International editorial advisory board

The Journal has an editorial board consisting of recognized experts in the field. As at 1 January 2020, the followings were members of the Board:

Jean Allain; Professor of International Law, Faculty of Law, Monash University, Australia
Fareda Banda; 
Professor in the Laws of Africa, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London
Gina Bekker; Teaching Associate, Monash University, Australia
Victor Dankwa; Professor of Law, University of Ghana
John Dugard; Extraordinary Professor, Centre for Human Rights, University of Pretoria
Christof Heyns; Professor of International Human Rights Law and Director: Institute for International and Comparative Law in Africa, University of Pretoria
Edward Kwakwa; Legal Counsel, World Intellectual Property Organisation, Geneva, Switzerland
Sandy Liebenberg; HF Oppenheimer Chair in Human Rights Law, University of Stellenbosch, South Africa
Tiyanjana Maluwa; Professor of Law, Dickinson School of Law, Pennsylvania State University, USA
Joe Oloka-Onyango; Professor of Law, Faculty of Law, Makerere University, Uganda
Kate O'Regan;  Director of the Bonavero Institute of Human Rights, University of Oxford; Former Justice, Constitutional Court of South Africa
Fatsah Ouguergouz; Former Judge, African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights
Michael Reisman; Myres S McDougal Professor of International Law, Yale Law School, USA
Geraldine van Bueren; Professor of International Human Rights Law at Queen Mary, University of London