JOHAN BERGH HISTORIA AWARD WINNERS 2023

North-West University

Mahadi Monyane

University of Cape Town

Frances Collopy

University of Johannesburg

Nonkululeko Xaba

University of Pretoria

Gemma Mills

University of Stellenbosch

Rosalynd Dally

University of the Free State

Pieter Swart

University of the Witwatersrand

Erin Judith Ryan

THE JOHAN BERGH HISTORIA AWARD

The Historical Association of South Africa (HASA) invites Heads of Departments to nominate their top third-year History student for the Johan Bergh *Historia* Award. This award is in recognition of Prof. Johan Bergh, who was chairperson of HASA for over two decades, and is in line with his on-going commitment to promote History at postgraduate level. The winners will receive a certificate and their names will be announced in the first issue of *Historia* of the subsequent year.

All departments of History at universities in South Africa offering postgraduate studies in History are eligible to participate. The selection of the winner/s is an internal decision by the respective department chairs and their colleagues. The names of the winners must be sent to the secretariat of HASA by the end of December each year.

The HASA Executive Council looks forward to showcasing our top History achievers in their third year of study, and trusts that this achievement will encourage them to pursue their study of History at postgraduate level.

THE JOHAN BERGH HISTORIA AWARD FORM

University:
Department:
Surname of student:
First name of student:
Student number:
Cell phone number:
E-mail address:
Student results at third year level:
Student address to post prize:
Signature of Department Chair:

Please e-mail this form to the Secretary: hasa@up.ac.za